It is important to recognise those who demonstrate exemplary values & best practice in learning and teaching in 21st Century schools.

Global Innovation Awards 2015 - 2016

Innovative Teaching Award

Cameron Paterson, Mentor of Learning & Teaching, Shore School, Sydney, Australia

Innovative Educational Coaching

Tara Linney, Educational Technology Coach, Singapore American School

Innovative Leadership Award

Dr. Iain Checkland, Director of Learning Systems Project, English Schools Foundation, Hong Kong

Innovative Learning Program

Garden International School, Malaysia (submitted by James Wellings & Andrew Rankin)

21st Century Learning has recognized excellence in teaching and learning since 2013 through the Teacher & School of the Year Awards. News about the 2016-17 awards is coming soon.


Global Patron Sponsor (2013-2015)

Background to the Awards

Background To the Awards

21st Century Learning has recognized excellence in teaching and learning since 2013 through the Global Innovation Awards (formally known as the Teacher and School of the Year Awards). We have received hundreds of submissions from teachers and schools in 19 countries for the awards, which include free travel and attendance at our annual conference in Hong Kong.

So far exceptional individuals and schools from 10 countries have received the awards.

Our core mission is Building Communities of Learners and we believe that as part of this mission it is important to recognise those who demonstrate exemplary values and best practice in learning and teaching in 21st Century schools.

Recognizing & Highlighting Best Practice

Global Innovation Awards

These international awards will reflect excellence in the use of learning technologies in the classroom and school.

With educators from 36 countries attending our annual conference, there will be no geographical restrictions on entries ensuring this is a truly global award.

  • Innovative Leadership Award (Individual)
    This will be a school based administrator/member of the leadership team who has demonstrated excellent leadership in 21st Century Learning innovation.
  • Innovative Educational Coaching (Individual)
    A school based instructional coach who has empowered other educators towards transformational practice.
  • Innovative Teaching Award (Individual)
    A classroom teacher who has demonstrated learning design and excellent pedagogy using innovative learning practices.
  • Innovative Learning Program Award (Institution)
    An Institution which has implemented an innovative learning program.

Awards Details

Awards Ceremony

The recipients of each award category receive a free conference place, including travel and hotel accommodation, for the 21st Century Learning Annual Conference in Hong Kong.

The 9th Annual Conference will be held on the 11-12 March 2017 at the world class Hong Kong Conference and Exhibition Centre.

Awardees will also receive an elegant trophy their recognising their achievement.

How to Apply

Individuals and schools wishing to apply should complete an application form on the 21st Century Learning website.

Applications need to address the areas of the standards criteria they feel they best address. This is an opportunity for you to explain how and why you uniquely meet the criteria with reference to the criteria and where you address at least three of the relevant ISTE Standards in no more than 500 words.

Applicants can submit a video but are not required to do so. Exemplars and links to supporting materials are encouraged.


To be announced. As a guide here are last years guidelines:

25 September 2015
Applications Open

4 January 2016
Applications Due

13 January 2016
Winners Announced

20 February 2016
Awards Presentation

Eligibility Guidelines

The award is open to any teacher or school in any country.

The awards are restricted to those working in the K-13 sector (i.e Kindergarten through to the end of secondary age schooling).

Winners receive a trophy and free entry to 9th Annual 21st Century Learning Conference. Includes airfare, hotels and all meals.*

Permission from School to Attend the Conference

In the event that you win one of the Awards, you will be invited to attend the conference as our guest and we will cover all travel and hotel costs and a free conference pass for the main conference on 11-12 March 2017.*+

If you are short listed then we will require a letter from the Principal or School Board, as appropriate, confirming that you will be given time off to travel to the conference at our expense in the event that you win one of the awards. It is a condition of receiving an award that you must commit to being present at the conference.

* Local travel costs for Award winners who live locally in Hong Kong

+ Local travel costs and hotels for Awards Winner from Macau or Guangdong Province

Pre- and Post-Conference Events

If you decide to attend any of the extended conference events then you must register and pay for these as normal. You will also be responsible for paying for any extra hotel nights and meals required for this additional stay.

Past Winners and Finalists

Teacher and School of the Year Awards 2014

Teacher of the Year Award 2014

James Abela, Bangkok Patana School in Thailand

School of the Year Award 2014

ShekouInternational School in China represented by John Burns

Teacher of the year Finalists 2014

Svetlana Belic Malinic
Cambridge International School at Link Group, Serbia

Rachel Iles
The British School in the Netherlands, Junior School Leidschenveen, The Netherlands

School of the Year Award Finalists 2014

Shekou International School, China
Represented by John Burns

The Harbour School, Hong Kong
Represented by Jadis Blurton

Teacher and School of the Year Awards 2013

Mark Johnson
ConcordiaInternational School in Shanghai, China

United World College South East Asia  Singaporere presented by Ben Morgan

Teacher of the year Finalists 2013

Bijal Damani
Galaxy Education System,India

Cathy Hunt
Trinity Lutheran College, Australia

School of the Year Award Finalists 2013

Callaghan College
NSW, Australia submitted by Fiona Walsh

Corona Secondary School
Agbara, Nigeria submitted by Chinedum Oluwadamilola